Ricordati di me?

Remember Me?

Look! A papier mache' snake!

I gave my Dad a papier mache’ snake for Fathers’ Day one year. I don’t know how long ago that was … but I imagine it was long enough ago that I was still making things out of papier mache’. Dad’s study was full of  a lot of stuff before they moved … and apparently he kept the snake all this time. I think now’s the time to take a picture … and throw away the snake. Also the eyes kept falling off.

Votes for Snowwomen!

What do you do when you’re the father of 3 girls and it snows the right kind of snow to make a snowman? You make a snowwoman of course! One that supports women’s suffrage, of course.

Santa and his Reindeer - handed down through Mom's family

That Santa and his reindeer – and his sleigh (loaded with whatever ornaments were broken but toylike) have been on that mantle for as long as I can remember.

Mickey Dees!

Dad’s Dad, my grandpa, always took us to McDonald’s when he came to visit. He liked the coffee … we liked getting to go to McDonald’s with Grandpa. I think this is the McDonald’s my Dad remembers as a kid.

Indian Princesses!

The YMCA has a program for fathers and their daughters called ‘Indian Guides and Princesses’. I don’t remember what it was about – I was a kid, I only remember the important things. I remember doing arts and crafts, and I remember going to Y camps where the Dads would buy us junk food, and we’d dump it all out on the floor, and they’d tell us not to tell our Moms. And I remember the drum (see above) … and the talking stick. The talking stick gave you permission to talk when you were in a circle. Can’t talk without the talking stick. They all ended up in our attic eventually. And we got them out on Christmas Eve to say goodbye.

Pointsetta in a glass ball thingy ...

This was one of my favorite Christmas decorations. It’s a pointsetta in a glass ball that you fill with water. I always tried to claim that as my job. I’m pretty sure it’s from my Dad’s childhood. Dad?

Dad's Lighted Church

This is from Dad’s childhood too. There’s a light bulb that goes inside it to light up the stained glass windows.

And last, but not least, were the boxes of papers and things that we went through and read to each other. :)

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Holidays, Reflections

3 responses to “Ricordati di me?

  1. Elaine Swingle

    The poinsettia was from our first year of marriage. Dad bought it for us.

    I think you mentioned the mack truck symbol ash tray. I’m quite sure that Christine has that.

  2. Johnd962

    It is also possible that Zynga’s chosen advertising network is to blame if we consider the case of the New York Times’ website gkdedgabekcd

Leave a Reply

