È Difficile Tornare

It’s Hard to Return

Ryan and I just got back from a four day trip to Poland (more on that soon … you know i like to be behind on things). But it’s weird to come ‘home’ to a foreign country. You know how after you’ve been travelling for a while, you just want to go home, relax, and sleep in your own bed? Some of that is lost when home is in a foreign country.

I don’t have any shampoo left, and I haven’t figured out shampoo here yet. And we barely fit in the teensy elevator with ourselves and our luggage.

I know, I’m whining … I think I just need to learn to refocus, so all those little things don’t bother me so much. Actually, I did recently figure out how to catch up on my American TV, so when I didn’t feel like dealing with all the stuff about home that wasn’t home, I settled down in front of the laptop and caught up on Grey’s Anatomy & Gossip Girls.

But, for one final note:
We got home just in time for dinner, and naturally, the house was empty. So we went out. I ordered a pizza like this:
Una pizza bianca con carciofini e speck … and I pointed at the item on the menu, just for emphasis and clarity.
What did we get?
Una focaccia della montagna
Do those even look like they sound the same? ‘Cause they don’t. And focaccia doesn’t have any cheese. And I was so hungry! *sigh*
It’s still good to be home. :)

3 Comments

Filed under Italy, Mishaps

3 responses to “È Difficile Tornare

  1. Elaine

    I read just the first 4 words, “It’s hard to return Ryan…”, and then I got up to get my lunch. I wondered, “Where is she going with that?”

    Well, after I read about the pizza and your hunger, I must say I understood the whole thing.

  2. Celeste

    Grey’s Anatomy has me a tad pissed. What is that ridiculousness about McSteamy and Little Grey breaking up? And the whole story line about his daughter is complete crap. Did I say crossover events are so bleh? I waited so long for Grey’s to come back on too.. sigh.

    (If you haven’t noticed I don’t have anyone to vent about Grey’s to. They just wouldn’t understand like you do =P)

    • I *just* managed to get it set up so I could watch it. Yeah, super upset about those two breaking up, I liked that combination! Also, crossover? Is there some other show with McSteamy’s daughter? Random shows on the internet have no ads … I’m totally out of the loop.

Leave a Reply

