Dentro, Ma Inserite

Inside, but Inserted

That’s where the keys to our house were when we locked ourselves out of the house. The ‘inserted’ part is key (har har – no pun intended … i hate puns).

One of the obstacles during our rough week was locking our keys inside the house. In order to open the door to our house, we have to unlock it with the key from the inside. So one morning we unlocked the door, left the keys in the lock while we gathered the rest of our belongings, opened the door, went out, shut the door . . . and we looked at each other. “Do you have the keys?” “No, do you?” “No.”

We had a moment of hope though, when I remembered I had an extra set in my purse … there was only one problem. Since the keys were still in the lock on the inside of the door, we couldn’t get the keys in from the outside. Awesome. On the bright side, we did have our car keys, and our badges … so we went to work. When we got there, we told the story of how we had locked ourselves out of our house. We received some encouraging ideas, and some discouraging ones (ie. “I’m pretty sure the only way in is to take apart the whole door, which would take several hours, and be costly.”)  So, armed with ideas and a bag of tools, my Knight in Shining Armor drove home to see if he could break into our house.

It turns out that the key that was inside the door had turned slightly, so once Ryan managed to maneuver it back to perfectly horizontal, it could be pushed out, and the secondary key could be used to open the door. Which was much cheaper than the ‘take the whole door apart’ option. Phew.

 

The side benefit, of course, of one of these types of adventures, are the stories you get to hear from others who have shared your suffering. Here are two of my favorites:

My Italian teacher told me a story about how she got caught outside her house with no keys, no shoes, and dressed in her ‘staying home all day cleaning the house’ clothes. She knocked on a neighbor’s door, who (as it turned out) was *ahem* entertaining a lady friend at that moment, but answered the door in his bathrobe anyway. My teacher asked to borrow the phone to call her parents, who had an extra key and … weren’t home. She then tried her sister who lived across town and … did not pick up the phone. So she found herself walking in a (borrowed) pair of mens shoes through the middle of town on a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon that everyone in town had decided to take advantage of – by going outside. Fortunately when she made it to her sister’s house, she was home … just asleep. So she was able to stay there until her parents could come over with a key.

I also heard from a coworker who said that at his house, if he locks the door when he leaves, he can inadvertantly lock his wife inside. There have been several times when he has received a phone call midmorning from his wife – asking to be let out of the house. He travels frequently for work, so he says he makes an extra effort not to lock her inside before he goes on a trip. At which point we all asked if there was an extra key at the office for his house – so we could come to his wife’s rescue, should the need arrive. I can just picture her calling us : “Please help! I’m running low on food & water!” and us slipping crackers and prosciutto under the crack below the door.

Italian Vocab of the Week:

Un Ladro – A thief. If this whole computer thing falls through, Ryan’s newly discovered backup occupation.

Una Zingara – A gypsy. From my Italian teacher’s description of herself when she locked herself out of her house.

3 Comments

Filed under Mishaps

3 responses to “Dentro, Ma Inserite

  1. dave, dad

    ROTFLMAO

    The Good News: When I have done these sorts of things ( yes I am now admitting your father is not the perfect being you believe him to be) – I usually learn several creative and imaginative ways out of the predicament

    The BETTER News: The experience is usually sufficiently traumatic, irritating, frustrating, etc…. that they usually NEVER happen again.

    That Said……

    Being an American & taught to “understand” the grammatical rules of American English………. Well of course there are always exceptions that “prove the rule”

    In my case it relates to keys, as in ” Where did I put them??” And YES I have a hook to hang tham up upon returning home — unfortunately the hook solution was sooooooo good, it propagated itself in several places – the kitchen, the front door, the back door, my study, etc. Which of course leads to an end loop of where did I HANG my keys or did I leave them somewhere in instead of hanging them up.

    For those of you who have been patient enough to have read this far, I will reward you with one additional “rule proving” exception….

    Wallets and Knights, shining armor notwithstanding…… ;-) Sorry Ryan

    However I read Kate’s comment, I could not resist sending along this poem. It is much deeper than just the casual turn of a phrase embodied in the title:

    A KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOR
    ——-Author: Anonymous

    “In this world full of hurt and pain,
    I need someone who would help me through the rain.
    To comfort me when I’m sad,
    Doing everything just to make me glad.

    In this world I need a Brave Knight,
    Who would never give up any fight.
    A knight who would dry away my tears,
    Telling me to overcome my fears.

    A knight who loves me for who I am inside,
    With him there’s nothing more I need to hide.
    A person who will still be standing strong,
    Even though everything has gone wrong.

    I need someone who is willing to give me more,
    Someone I can call my Knight In Shining Armor.”

    So wallets or no — Ryan it is heartwarming to know you and Kate are together, and part of the family – I am so proud of you both.
    Love dad, dave

  2. Pingback: La Mattina di Natale « Kate and Ryan in Italia

Leave a Reply

