Tutto Bene, Niente A Posto

We’ve been working on getting settled … figuring out cell phone plans (16 cents to connect, 19 cents a minute, except for your preferred number which is free, and other vodafone numbers which come from a pool of minutes. Would you rather pay 12 cents a minute? or 38cents per phone call?), and internet service (I heard the most complicated story on setting up internet service … bottom line, it’s really complicated, and we’ll have to wait weeks. And cell phones (an iPhone is about $1050, a cheap phone is around $200 -yeesh.) Turns out we can’t register our car at all in the month of August … the DMV is closed. for the whole month.
Everything, of course, is complicated by the language difference. I got a phone call at 10am on Saturday from Italy Telecom who will handle the first of a series of appointments to get our internet set up. It went pretty well for a while, but unfortunately the better I do, the faster they speak, until eventually, I have to admit that I don’t understand and they have to start over. I find myself constantly wondering what I sound like, and when they can tell that Italian isn’t my native language. Is it immediately from my accent? Do I pause too long? Is it when I make a grammar mistake? It’s weird being a foreigner.

(All is well, nothing is as it should be)

We’ve been working on getting settled … figuring out cell phone plans (16 cents to connect, 19 cents a minute, except for your preferred number which is free, and other vodafone numbers which come from a pool of minutes. Would you rather pay 12 cents a minute? or 38cents per phone call?), and internet service (I heard the most complicated story on setting up internet service … bottom line, it’s really complicated, and we’ll have to wait weeks. And cell phones (an iPhone is about $1050, a cheap phone is around $200 -yeesh.) Turns out we can’t register our car at all in the month of August … the DMV is closed. for the whole month.

Everything, of course, is complicated by the language difference. I got a phone call at 10am on Saturday from Italy Telecom who will handle the first of a series of appointments to get our internet set up. It went pretty well for a while, but unfortunately the better I do, the faster they speak, until eventually, I have to admit that I don’t understand and they have to start over. I find myself constantly wondering what I sound like, and when they can tell that Italian isn’t my native language. Is it immediately from my accent? Do I pause too long? Is it when I make a grammar mistake? It’s weird being a foreigner.

3 Comments

Filed under Mishaps

3 responses to “Tutto Bene, Niente A Posto

  1. Rick

    Sounds like your having so much fun. The blog is great and easy way to keep in touch. Is there such a thing as simple cheap food that a normal person would eat. Eggplant is not normal. What about Italian fast food or just some great reasonable meat dishes? Have fun and keep in contact.

    • kateandryan

      There is plenty of simple cheap food, actually. Lots of pizza and sandwiches available everywhere. We’ve been eating a lot of pizza by the slice – it’s great b/c you can try 3 different pizzas all at once!

      Plus they have your classic McDonalds & pastas with tomato sauce, etc.

      At the moment, since we’re still in a hotel, we’re getting some financial assistance with food, so we’re using this as an opportunity to try out some crazier things – that way if we don’t like something, we can always order something else, and then we know for next time!

  2. Elaine

    Now I know why you needed to study Italian before you left.

Leave a Reply

